A Brief Description On The Upcoming Paralympic Games 2010

Paralympic Games

The next Paralympic Games will be held in Vancouver and Whistler, British Columbia. This game is also officially called as the X Paralympic Games. Paralympic Games 2010 is scheduled to take place from 12th to 21st March 2010. The Opening Ceremony of Paralympic Games 2010 will be held at BC Place Stadium, Vancouver, British Columbia. Canada will be hosting the Paralympic Games for the second time following the Summer Paralympic Games 1976 in Toronto. However, Vancouver sees the 2010 Paralympic Games as an opportunity to build on its history as a city that began in 1986 with the World’s Fair. Get more information about Paralympic Games by reading the article further.

Prince Edward, patron of the British Paralympic Association raised the flag of the Paralympic Games 2010 outside Vancouver City Hall in June 7, 2006. Five sports will be held in the upcoming events in Paralympic Games 2010 including Alpine skiing, Biathlon, Cross-country skiing, Wheelchair curling and Sledge hockey. However, the venues for the 2010 Winter Paralympics will be shared between Vancouver and Whistler, as with the 2010 Winter Olympics. The venues are UBC Winter Sports Centre, Vancouver Olympic Centre, Whistler Creekside and Whistler Paralympic Park. Read on to know more about the upcoming events in Paralympic Games 2010.

The mascot for Paralympic Games 2010 is sumi, an animal guardian spirit with the wings of the Thunderbird and legs of a black bear. However, it is the first time the Olympic and Paralympic mascots were introduced at the same time. To commemorate the 2010 Olympic Games, 15 coins are being issued for general circulation. Two of the circulation coins will honor Paralympic sports. The two sports being featured include wheelchair curling which was released on July 11, 2007 and ice sledge hockey to be released on March 18, 2010. With regards to the circulation coins, one of the novelties is that D.G. Regina will be removed from the Queen's effigy, making the 25-cent coins are the first "godless circulating coins" since the 1911 issue of King George V.

Copyright © www.sportsdaytimer.com. All Rights Reserved.