A Complete Guide For The Upcoming Rugby World Cup 2011

Rugby World Cup

The next Rugby World Cup will be held in 2011 in New Zealand. The International Rugby Board selected New Zealand as the host country in preference to Japan and South Africa. However, two rounds of voting were held by the IRB Council so as to select the host nation. Rugby World Cup 2011 is scheduled to be played over seven weekends from the weekend starting 10 September and culminating the weekend starting 22 October 2011. The event is expected to cost about NZ$ 310.0 million to run and will generate NZ$280 million in ticket sales. Read on to know more about Rugby World Cup.

In the upcoming events in Rugby World Cup 2011, 20 teams will be feature as it was announced by IRB on 30 November 2007. 12 teams were selected as a consequence of finishing in the top 3 in each category in the 2007 tournament. However, the remaining eight will be determined by regional qualifying tournaments. The participating countries include Argentine, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa, Tonga, Wales, Canada, Namibia, Samoa and United States. However, seeding of the team for Rugby World Cup was based on their irrespective IRB Worlds Rankings. The full draw and venues for the tournament were announced on 12 March 2009.

The event of Rugby World Cup 2011 will be held in 13 different venues and it was confirmed on 12 March 2009. The venues include Eden Park, North Harbour Stadium, Northland Events Centre, Waikato Stadium, Rotorua International Stadium, Yarrow Stadium, McLean Park, Westpac Stadium, Trafalgar Stadium, Arena Manawatu, AMI Satdium, Carisbrook and Rugby Park. Dunedin is currently building a new stadium named Forsyth Barr Stadium at University plaza, due for completion in August 2011. If completed in schedule, this stadium will be used instead of Caribrook. The opening match will see the hosts, New Zealand take on Tonga. However, this will be the first Rugby World Cup since 1995 in which the opening match does not involve Argentina.

read our Blackjack Tips !

Copyright © www.sportsdaytimer.com. All Rights Reserved.